The philiosophy of love

I used to woo my wife with poetry with every card that I gave her during our courtship and early marriage years. Well that was about a decade ago. Though I still dedicate poetry to her I realise that now it does not carry with it the enthusiasm brought about by the weight of the passion of a blooming love that we have experienced in the heart during our courting days. My poetic ways were something different to her as being strait laced, she found such artistic expressions of love rather contrived. But nonetheless it was entertainment for her and enough persuasion for her to marry a young idealistic non-entity. This was one of the poems that I wrote to her to woo her… It is by the Romantic Era English Poet Percy B. Shelley

The Philosophy Of Love 

The Fountains Mingle with the river

The river with the ocean

The winds of heaven mix forever

With such a sweet emotion

Nothing in this in this world is single

All things by a law divine

With one another being mingle

Why not I with thine?

See the mountains kiss the high heavens

And the waves clasp one another

No sister flower would be forgiven

If it disdained it’s brother

And the sunlight clasps the earth

And the moonbeams kiss the sea

What are all these kissings worth,

If thou kiss not me?

Leave a Reply

