Non-Sequitur

I wrote this poem while vacillating between the “to-be-or-not-to-be” question when I was courting my wife. It was a heart wrenching moment – but I guess it was all worth it in the end…

Non-Sequitur 

An expectant face perks up like the earth

That saw the first rays of the morning sun

Lips quivering and frozen in a half mirth

Hesitant to admit the mixing of palpable affections 

I look away, afraid to face my wrongs

It kills me with a hundred cruel stabs

 To walk away from that which my heart forlorns

I know not why my legs jilted my crying heart 

Like water and oil in a clear glass

The chemistry of our nature keeps us apart

This charade rests heavily like a pointless farce

Yet I cannot halt the inertia of my drifting heart 

Your eyes were pregnant with my passion

It took captive of me from doing my wishes

For I refuse to answer your unasked questions

But that is my only door to a free conscience 

It damned me to ignore your enthralling pull

To a ruination of a mind full of compunction

Why my freedom lies in this emotional duel?

For rightly so it’s a duty I owe you not 

I cannot stand to use the force of reason

 To justify this violation of my emotions

But how I deny and be this brazen

To consciously self-inflict such pain 

Shall I succumb to my heart?

Or shall I stand by my stubborn head?

The sea by the dyke is kept apart

But when breached – do I swim or do I drown?

Leave a Reply

